Common Council Meeting

Tuesday, April 21, 2020, 6:00 p.m. Organizational Meeting

Due to COVID 19 this meeting was not held in person. Attendance was through a virtual meeting at meet.google.com/tyf-zkqn-nor and also available by phone at: +1 (321) 549-0737, pin: 724 289 484#

MINUTES

- 1. Call to order. The meeting was called to order by Mayor Bill Hurtley at 6:02 p.m.
- **2. Roll Call.** Members present: Mayor Bill Hurtley, Alderpersons Jim Brooks, Rick Cole, Dianne Duggan, Ben Ladick, Joy Morrison, and Jon Senn. Alderperson Erika Stuart was absent. Others present: City Administrator/Finance Director Ian Rigg and City Clerk/Treasurer Judy Walton.
- **3. Approval of Agenda.** Brooks made a motion, seconded by Duggan to approve the agenda. Motion approved 6-0.
- **4. Election of Council President.** Duggan nominated Jim Brooks for Council President. There were no other nominations. Jim Brooks was elected Council President 6-0 on a roll call vote.
- **5. Appointment of Official Newspaper.** Brooks made a motion, seconded by Senn to appoint The Evansville Review as the City of Evansville's official newspaper for a term of one year. Motion approved 6-0.
- **6. Aldermanic Appointments.** Brooks made a motion, seconded by Senn to approve the Committee Aldermanic Appointments 6A 6J noting that if anyone wished to discuss an appointment individually it could be voted on separately. Motion approved 6-0 on a roll call vote.
 - **A.** Ald. Cole as Chair and Ald. Duggan and Ald. Morrison as committee members to the Finance and Labor Relations Committee.
 - **B.** Ald. Cole and Ald. Stuart to the Plan Commission.
 - **C.** Ald. Brooks as Chair and Ald. Senn and Ald. Ladick as committee members to the Municipal Services Committee.
 - **D.** Ald. Brooks and Ald. Cole to the Evansville Fire District Board, and Ald. Senn and Ald. Ladick as alternates.
 - **E.** Ald. Brooks and Ald. Ladick as committee members to the Economic Development Committee.
 - **F.** Ald. Morrison as Chair to the Park and Recreation Board.
 - **G.** Ald. Duggan as Chair and Ald. Senn and Ald. Stuart as committee members to the Public Safety Committee.
 - H. Ald. Ladick and Ald. Morrison to the Redevelopment Authority.
 - I. Ald. Morrison to the Historic Preservation Commission.
 - **J.** Ald. Brooks as Chair to the Evansville Youth Center Board.
- **7. Citizen Appointments.** Brooks made a motion, seconded by Cole to approve the Committee Citizen Appointments 7A 7L noting that if anyone wished to discuss an appointment individually it could be voted on separately. Motion approved 6-0 on a roll call vote.
 - **A.** John Gishnock for a three-year term to the Plan Commission.
 - **B.** Scott Brummond for a five-year term to the Police Commission.
 - C. Lyman Fuson and Sue Merritt for three-year terms to the Park and Recreation Board.
 - **D.** Gwen Clendening and Wally Shannon for three-year terms to the Eager Free Public Library Board of Trustees.

- **E.** Steve Christens, Steve Culbertson and Matt Koser, for two-year terms to the Historic Preservation Commission.
- **F.** Tom Calley, for a five-year term to the Redevelopment Authority.
- **G.** Carol Endres for a three year term to the Zoning Board of Appeals.
- **H.** Gene Lewis, for a three-year term to the Economic Development Committee.
- **I.** Jeff Vrstal as first alternate and Ry Thompson as second alternate to the Zoning Board of Appeals.
- **J.** Judy Bratzke for a five-year term to the Board of Review.
- **K.** Carolyn Butts for a five-year term to the Evansville Housing Authority.
- L. Jerry Roth to fulfill the term of Heidi Carvin, Brandon Rutz to fulfill the term of John Morning, and appoint new Dana Basch and Jill Pagel to the Energy Independence Team.
- **8.** Rigg noted the League of Municipalities 122nd Annual Conference is scheduled for October 7 9, 2020 at La Crosse, WI and encourage Council to attend.
- **9.** Brooks made a motion, seconded by Duggan to approve Youth Center conducting fundraising during the Fourth of July Celebration. Brooks stated this is the annual approval of the Ducky Derby. Motion approved 6-0.

10. Meeting Reminders

A. Regular Meeting: Tuesday, May 12, 2020 6:00 p.m. at City Hall

Prior to adjournment Morrison ask if there were any COVID 19 updates for Council and Rigg stated personal protective equipment is more accessible; with nicer weather anticipated the DPW and Water & Light employees will be back up to their full schedule; city hall employees are working from home when possible; and there is a temporary solution to bulky waste where residents can drop those items off at a local site. EVPD and EMS continue to work diligently and there is an increase in police calls for domestic issues and some vandalism.

11. Adjournment. Senn made a motion, seconded by Brooks to adjourn at 6:20 p.m. Motion approved 6-0.

Judy Walton, City Clerk/Treasurer

The minutes are not official until approved by the Common Council at the next regular meeting.