Common Council Meeting

Tuesday, April 17, 2018, 6:30 p.m.
Organizational Meeting
City Hall, 31 South Madison Street, Evansville WI

MINUTES

The City Clerk administered the Oral Oath of Office to Mayor William Hurtley, District #3 Alderperson Ben Ladick, and District #4 Alderpersons Dianne Duggan and Joy Morrison

- 1. Call to order. The meeting was called to order by Mayor Bill Hurtley at 6:30 p.m.
- 2. Roll Call. Members present: Mayor Bill Hurtley, Alderpersons Jim Brooks, Larry Dobbs, Dianne Duggan, Ben Ladick, James Montgomery, and Joy Morrison. Alderpersons Rick Cole and Erika Stuart were absent. Others present: City Administrator/Finance Director Ian Rigg, City Clerk/Treasurer Judy Walton, Gene Lewis, and Kelly Gildner of The Evansville Review.
- **3.** Nomination and election of Council President. Ladick nominated Jim Brooks. Dobbs commented that Council should reconsider their practice of every year electing the same person as Council President. There were no other nominations. Brooks was elected Council President 5-1 on a voice vote with Dobbs voting no.
- **4. Appointment of Official Newspaper.** Brooks made a motion, seconded by Duggan to appoint The Evansville Review as the City of Evansville's official newspaper for a term of one year. Motion approved 6-0.
- **5. Designation of Authorized Signatures.** Brooks made a motion, seconded by Duggan to approve Resolution 2018-11 Designating Authorized Parties to Sign for Transactions Involving City Bank Accounts and Investments. Motion approved 6-0 on a roll call vote.
- **6. Committee Aldermanic Appointments.** Brooks made a motion, seconded by Dobbs to bundle Items 6A 6J into a single motion to approve the Mayoral appointments as designated. He added that any names could be pulled out and voted on separately. Motion approved 6-0 on a roll call vote.
 - **A.** Motion to approve the Mayoral appointments of Ald. Cole as Chair and Ald. Duggan and Ald. Montgomery as committee members to the Finance and Labor Relations Committee.
 - **B.** Motion to approve the Mayoral appointments of Ald. Cole and Ald. Stuart to the Plan Commission.
 - C. Motion to approve the Mayoral appointments of Ald. Brooks as Chair and Ald. Cole and Ald. Ladick as committee members to the Municipal Services Committee.
 - **D.** Motion to approve the Mayoral appointments of Ald. Montgomery and Ald. Dobbs to the Evansville Fire District Board, and Ald. Brooks and Ald. Cole as alternates.
 - **E.** Motion to approve the Mayoral appointments of Ald. Stuart and Ald. Ladick as committee members to the Economic Development Committee.

- **F.** Motion to approve the Mayoral appointment of Ald. Morrison as Chair to the Park and Recreation Board.
- **G.** Motion to approve the Mayoral appointments of Ald. Montgomery as Chair and Ald. Dobbs and Ald. Duggan as committee members to the Public Safety Committee.
- **H.** Motion to approve the mayoral appointments of Ald. Ladick and Ald. Morrison to the Redevelopment Authority.
- **I.** Motion to approve the Mayoral appointment of Ald. Morrison to the Historic Preservation Commission.
- **J.** Motion to approve the Mayoral appointment of Ald. Brooks as Chair to the Evansville Youth Center Board.
- **7. Committee Citizen Appointments.** Brooks made a motion, seconded by Dobbs to bundle Items 7A 7J into a single motion to approve the Mayoral re-appointments and appointments. He added that if anyone had objections to any names they could be pulled off for consideration. Motion approved 6-0 on a roll call vote.
 - **A.** Motion to approve the Mayoral re-appointment of Susan Becker, for a three-year term to the Plan Commission.
 - **B.** Motion to approve the Mayoral re-appointment of Floyd Hayes for a five-year term to the Police Commission.
 - **C.** Motion to approve the Mayoral re-appointments of Darrell Hamilton, and appointment of Gene Prudhon, 245 Clifton St, for three-year terms to the Park and Recreation Board.
 - **D.** Motion to approve the Mayoral re-appointments of Eloise Eager and Vicki Lecy-Luebke for three-year terms to the Eager Free Public Library Board of Trustees.
 - **E.** Motion to approve the Mayoral re-appointment of Teena Nelson and appointment of Andrew Dewar, 8936 N Tupper Road, to the Evansville Youth Center Board for a three-year term.
 - **F.** Motion to approve the Mayoral re-appointment of Sue Berg for a three-year term, and appoint Gene Lewis, 354 Union St., to fulfill the remaining term of Ben Ladick to the Economic Development Committee.
 - **G.** Motion to approve the Mayoral re-appointments of Matt Koser, Steve Christens and Steve Culbertson, for two-year terms to the Historic Preservation Commission.
 - **H.** Motion to approve the Mayoral re-appointment of Roger Roth, for a five-year term to the Redevelopment Authority.
 - **I.** Motion to approve the Mayoral re-appointment of Janice Turner and Kent England for a three year term to the Zoning Board of Appeals.
 - **J.** Motion to approve the Mayoral designations of Jeff Vrstal as first alternate and Carol Endres as second alternate to the Zoning Board of Appeals.
- **8.** Rigg directed Council's attention to the notice of the League of Municipalities Lessons in Local Government on June 1, 2018 in Madison.
- **9.** Rigg directed Council's attention to the notice of the League of Municipalities 120th Annual Conference, October 24 26, 2018 at the Kalahari Resort, Wisconsin Dells, WI.

- **10.** Brooks made a motion, seconded by Duggan to approve Youth Center conducting fundraising raffle (Ducky Derby) during the Fourth of July Celebration. Motion approved 6-0.
- **11.** Brooks presented the first reading of Ordinance 2018-06, An Ordinance Relating to the Confidentiality of Information About Income and Expenses Requested by the City's Assessor.

12. Meeting Reminders

- **A.** The Committee of the Whole will meet on Saturday, May 12, 2018 at 8:00 a.m. at Evansville EMS Building
- **B.** The next regular meeting will be held on Tuesday, May 8, 2018 at 6:30 p.m. at City Hall
- **13. Adjournment.** Dobbs made a motion, seconded by Duggan to adjourn at 6:40 p.m. Motion approved 6-0.

Judy Walton, City Clerk/Treasurer

The minutes are not official until approved by the Common Council at the next regular meeting.