Common Council Meeting Tuesday, April 18, 2017, 6:00 p.m. Organizational Meeting City Hall, 31 South Madison Street, Evansville WI

MINUTES

The Oral Oath of Office to Mayor William Hurtley, District #1 Alderperson Larry Dobbs, District #2 Alderperson James Brooks, and District #4 Alderperson Josh Manring was administered prior to the meeting at 6:00 pm by Deputy Clerk/Treasurer Samantha Jozefowicz.

- 1. Call to Order. Hurtley called the meeting to order at 6:18.
- 2. Roll call of new Council. Members present: Mayor Bill Hurtley, Alderpersons Jim Brooks, Rick Cole, Josh Manring, Erika Stuart, Larry Dobbs and Ben Ladick. Others present: City Administrator/Finance Director Ian Rigg, Deputy Clerk/Treasurer Samantha Jozefowicz.
- **3.** Nomination and election of Council President. Dobbs nominated Rick Cole as Council President. Cole nominated Jim Brooks as Council President. Dobbs rescinded his nomination of Rick Cole. There were no other nominations. A vote by ballot was conducted and Jim Brooks was elected Council President on a vote of 6-0.
- **4. Appointment of Official Newspaper.** Brooks made a motion to appoint The Evansville Review as the City of Evansville's official newspaper for a term of one year, seconded by Stuart. Motion approved 6-0 on a roll call vote.
- **5. Designation of Authorized Signatures.** Brooks made a motion to approve Resolution 2017-09 Designating Authorized Parties to Sign for Transactions Involving City Bank Accounts and Investments and Cole seconded. Upon a roll call the motion passed 6-0.
- **6. Budget Amendment.** Brooks made a motion to approve Resolution 2017-10 Amending the 2016 Budget and Cole seconded. Rigg stated this is a correction to the first amendment on Resolution 2017-01. Upon a roll call the motion passed 6-0.
- **7.** Evansville Youth Center Committee Amendment. Brooks made a motion to approve Resolution 2017-11 Resolution Amending the Evansville Youth Center Committee and Cole seconded. Upon a roll call the motion passed 6-0.
- **8.** Committee Aldermanic Appointments. Brooks made a motion to approve all Committee Aldermanic Appointments as proposed on the agenda and Dobbs seconded. Upon a roll call the motion passed 6-0.
 - A. Motion to approve the Mayoral appointments of Ald. Cole as Chair and Ald. Manring and Ald. Montgomery as committee members to the Finance and Labor Relations Committee.

- B. Motion to approve the Mayoral appointments of Ald. Cole and Ald. Stuart to the Plan Commission.
- C. Motion to approve the Mayoral appointments of Ald. Ladick as Chair and Ald. Dobbs and Ald. Brooks as committee members to the Municipal Services Committee.
- D. Motion to approve the Mayoral appointments of Ald. Montgomery and Ald. Dobbs to the Evansville Fire District Board, and Ald. Brooks and Ald. Cole as alternates.
- E. Motion to approve the Mayoral appointments of Ald. Stuart and Ald. Lewis as committee members to the Economic Development Committee.
- F. Motion to approve the Mayoral appointment of Ald. Ladick as Chair to the Park and Recreation Board.
- G. Motion to approve the Mayoral appointments of Ald. Montgomery as Chair and Ald. Dobbs and Ald. Cole as committee members to the Public Safety Committee.
- H. Motion to approve the mayoral appointments of Ald. Ladick and Ald. Lewis to the Redevelopment Authority.
- I. Motion to approve the Mayoral appointment of Ald. Lewis to the Historic Preservation Commission.
- J. Motion to approve the Mayoral appointment of Ald. Brooks as Chair to the Evansville Youth Center Board.
- **9.** Committee Citizen Appointments. Brooks made a motion to approve all Committee Citizen Appointments as proposed on the agenda and Dobbs seconded. Upon a roll call the motion passed 6-0.
 - A. Motion to approve the Mayoral appointment of John Gishnock, 210 Cemetery Road, for a three-year term to the Plan Commission.
 - B. Motion to approve the Mayoral appointment of Kim Miller, 8 Sherman Court, for a five-year term to the Police Commission.
 - C. Motion to approve the Mayoral appointments of Lyman Fuson, 334 West Main Street, and Sue Merritt, 507 East Main Street, for three-year terms to the Park and Recreation Board.
 - D. Motion to approve the Mayoral appointments of Gwen Clendenning, 331 Almeron Street, and Wally Shannon, 131 South Third Street, for three-year terms to the Eager Free Public Library Board of Trustees.
 - E. Motion to approve the Mayoral appointment of Mike Czerwonka, 215 Campion Drive; and Nancy Kress, 239 West Liberty Street, to the Evansville Youth Center Board for a three-year term.
 - F. Motion to approve the Mayoral appointment of Derek Allen, 28 Braeburn Way, for a three-year term to the Economic Development Committee.
 - G. Motion to approve the Mayoral appointments of Dan Stephans, 54 Deanna Drive; Betsy Ahner, 66 North Water Street; and Cheryl Doerfer, 204 W Main Street, for two-year terms to the Historic Preservation Commission.
 - H. Motion to approve the Mayoral appointment of Betsy Ahner, 66 North Water Street, for a five-year term to the Redevelopment Authority.
 - I. Motion to approve the Mayoral appointment of Edward Crook at 554 Spencer Drive, for a five-year term to the Board of Review
 - J. Motion to approve the Mayoral designations of Jeff Vrstal as first alternate and Carol Endres as second alternate to the Zoning Board of Appeals.

- **10.** Rigg directed the Council's attention to the League of Municipalities Lessons in Local Government on Friday, May 12, 2017 in Madison
- **11.** Rigg directed the Council's attention to the League of Municipalities 119th Annual Conference, October 18-20, 2017 in Appleton, WI.
- **12. Youth Center Raffle.** Brooks made a motion to approve Youth Center conducting fundraising raffle (Ducky Derby) during the Fourth of July Celebration and Cole seconded. Motion passed 6-0.

13. Meeting Reminders:

- A. Committee of the Whole, April 29, 2017 8:00am at Evansville Police Department Building
- B. Regular Meeting: Tuesday, May 9, 2017 6:30 p.m. at City Hall
- 14. Adjournment. Cole made a motion to adjourn, second by Manring at 6:32 pm.

Samantha Jozefowicz, Deputy Clerk-Treasurer

The minutes are not official until approved by the Common Council at the next regular meeting.